Grilled Pizza


Grilling is also a theme lately.

But then, I’m a fan of char in general, so grilling is always a theme.

A friend of mine was just discussing how she needs to get more vegetables, and I agree.  I mean, I don’t really know. I’m not with her all the time.  What I’m trying to say is everyone should probably eat more vegetables. And right then and there I resolved to precipitously up my vegetable intake.

Did I mention I prefer my vegetables in pizza form?

So I made my roasted vegetable salad, but I added some fresh tomatoes. Here are some random pics from that business.

These white buttons have been eating their Wheaties!

Gigante!

While I was grilling I put together this pizza dough.

I grilled a sausage.

I made this marinara sauce, except I chucked some red pepper flakes in there.

I grated some provolone and mozzarella – heavy on the provolone.

Once the dough was risen, I rolled it out to the size of my grill pan.

I heated the grill pan to medium, and marked it on both sides.

I also preheated the oven to 400.

I put the dough on a sheet pan. Then I put the sauce, some of the vegetable salad, the sausage and cheese on the dough.

Popped it into the oven for @10 minutes.

Meanwhile I tossed a handful of spinach with a drizzle of olive oil and a pinch of salt.

When the pizza came out

I put the spinach on top and let it wilt.

Then I ate it.  With my mouth.

So I know the cheese and sausage weren’t so healthy.  I could have skipped the sausage and not even missed it, there’s so much going on with this pizza.  But just think, eggplant, zucchini, mushrooms, peppers, onions, spinach, tomatoes?  That’s a respectable amount of vegetables.  And now I have tons of roasted veg salad for the next few days, and enough dough and sauce in the freezer for 3 future pizzas.

Side note :

Why do I look so much cuter in my own kitchen? Unnecessary proof that flourescent lighting is no girl’s friend. (We all knew that already, right?)

4 thoughts on “Grilled Pizza

  1. Can you make 2 of those for my wine night? Maybe a pizza dough I can pop in the oven?
    check is in the mail

Leave a Reply

