Big Girl Lemonade Spritzer


Ok, it has been the longest week of all time.  Tears, sweat, a little blood. No, there was. Really. Fine, I nicked my leg shaving. Still counts.

I laughed.  I cried.  I learned the true meaning of winter.  Or fatigue.  I can’t remember which now.  It’s the sleep deprivation.  And the donuts.

Why am I sporting a half duck face? I can’t say, reader. I just can’t say. Let’s again blame the sleep deprivation? Also how did that flour get all over my chestal area?  Best to not even speculate about that.  You’re speculating, aren’t you?  Best not.

As of today, I am mercifully down to one job.  A set schedule.  Two whole days off…in a row.  Every week. Oh, the luxury.  I wonder what I’ll do with myself.  Hey, I know!

Bourbon Lemonade Spritzer

2 cups sugar
1 cup water
Lemon juice, fresh squeezed is best, but hey, I can’t afford that all the time so… do what you have to
Bourbon
Selzer water

First put 2 cups sugar and 1 cup water in a pot.  Bring to a boil.  Like this.

Turn off heat.  Let cool.  You just made simple syrup.

Sweet.

You can seal it in a container (or ball jar) and keep it around for weeks. Hell, probably months.

Why bother, you ask?  Well sugar can be gritty in drinks, I find.  This incorporates smoothly.

Gather your drinking materials unto you.

If I was drinking Bourbon straight, I wouldn’t drink benchmark, but you can’t really taste it in this drink.  If I was drinking whiskey straight I like –

Rittenhouse Straight Rye Whisky - 100 Proof

Apparently, it’s one of the only Pennsylvania-style ryes on the market.  I first encountered it while on a date at a trendy gastropub where they happened to be doing bourbon tastings.  The date was a bust, but the bourbon tasting was quite memorable. I tried bourbon that was aged 4 years, 10, 18, 25.  I liked this better.  No accounting for taste.  Maybe I was Amish in a past life.

I would also accept –

or

Bulleit Bourbon Frontier Whiskey 750ml

Can you tell I like bourbon?

You can play around with these ratios but I used –

2 ounces simple syrup
1 ounce lemon juice
1 ounce bourbon
4-5 ounces of seltzer water
ice

I put it in a ball jar because I think it’s kitschy to drink lemonade out of ball jars. *shrug*

Yes. Please.

Leave a Reply

