In Praise of Pomodoraccio


Personal Deep Dish Pizza

I know what you’re saying – how much comfort food do you need this week?  I can’t even tell you.  I feel like the harbinger of the zombie apocalypse and the only thing keeping me from eating brains is the lack of energy and immediate availability.

So since I’ve covered deep-dish pizza before, I’m not going to go into detail, except to give you a hint as to one of the few shortcuts I take in the kitchen.

I avoid packaged food like the plague, but these –

these are great!

(If you live in Chicago, you can get them at the Chopping Block cheaper than you can find them online).

You could make a version of these tomatoes yourself, but these come packed in oil – oil flavored by the tomatoes. This oil is good for making salad dressings, hummus, mayonnaise, dipping bread into…. Not to mention the tomatoes themselves are great in salads, in hummus, in mayonnaise, on bread, in eggs, and let’s not forget, pizza.

This is a product I can get behind.

Not the least of which because the ingredient list is “Sun Semi-dried Tomatoes, Sunflower oil , Water, Wine Vinegar, Salt, Natural Aromas, Oregano, Garlic, Chili, Citric Acid, Ascorbic Acid”.  Except for the “natural aromas” (huh?), most of that is pretty harmless.

They pair great with any melting cheese, but I used edam and parmesan for the pizza. Here are the pics.  If you want the particulars, see this recipe.  You could get four personal pizzas out of this, if you have four pans, or freezer space to keep the dough after it’s risen.

I brushed the crust with the remaining roasted garlic mayo I had around, but I don’t know that it made much difference. It does need a bit of olive oil on the exposed edges to crisp the crust. Or pomodoraccio oil!

One thought on “In Praise of Pomodoraccio

Leave a Reply

